Sun. Jan 24th, 2021

Buman bags Patrick Ahlund Classic at Champion Speedway

3 min read
Champion Speedway, Owego, NY
August 8th, 2020
By Jason Bonsignore
Photo of Speedway Legend Norm Robinson with Winner Mike Buman taken by Frank Watson, action shot of Spencer Portararo leading Buman taken by Kris Keath
The action and excitement continued to grow again at Champion Speedway this past Saturday evening as the racing on track was hot and heavy! A full program of speedway racing along with an excellent ATV show took to the bullring oval! Former track champion, Mike Buman, made a return after a 2-year layoff and did not disappoint!
The first heat race featured another former standout who was returning, John “Boogieman” Lewis, along with last week’s winner, Len McBride, Pat Cliff and Russ Cornell. McBride took it home with Lewis looking sharp for second, Cliff was third. In event two “Smokin” Dave Oakden used the outside to get around 5-time track champion, Adam “The Missile” Mittl, down the back straight to take a lead he never relinquished. Mittl would stay in second, with Jesse “Jet” Diem third and Dalton Oakden fourth. Buman would make his debut in the third race but would face this season’s hottest rider thus far, “Sideways” Spencer Portararo. Buman showed no signs of rust but was not quick enough to outdistance Portararo and settled for second with Dave “The Shark” Clark third and Mike Cortese Jr fourth.
Oakden, Portararo and Buman would score second round victories with Diem, Mittl and Clark taking second places. Third place points were scooped up by McBride, Dalton Oakden and Lewis.
In closing out the heats Mittl took a win off McBride while Clark handed Oakden his first loss and Buman won over Diem. The top 8 riders in points were then placed in two semifinals.
With the heat and all the ATV races, along with go-kart races the evening prior, the dirt had gone completely away at this stage on the track and riders would need to rely on luck of starting gate position draws and gating skills. In semi number one Portararo was leading but fell down and Diem rode a great race to win. McBride took a solid second for the last direct transfer to the Main with Oakden and Portararo going to the last chance. Buman was on the gas for the checkered flag in the other semi while a nice race took place between Clark and Mittl with Clark getting the edge. Lewis, having a nice night after such a long hiatus, was fourth.
Portararo, on his Justice Bros/TANKS AUTO/Joe V’s Auto/Scotts headers/Arai/COBRA backed Jawa, would be sure to take the last Main event position out of the last chance but not without a valiant fight from Mittl, who was one of the top riders in speed, all night. Oakden ended up third and Lewis DNS.
In the Main Buman got the coveted inside starting spot with the track conditions the way they were and would make no mistakes as he piloted his TEAM ROBINSON/Dandy Mart/Lanes Yamaha/Watson Diesel GM to a nice victory to take the Patrick Ahlund Trophy! Portararo tried hard not far off in second but could not make up the ground with the lack of outside material. Clark nailed a solid third with Diem fourth and McBride fifth.
Champion Speedway hosts the Speedway Joe Cup/USSGP RD 3 Saturday August 15th and then comes back with the Moonbeam/McBride Memorial August 29th prior to the US Open National Championships Labor Day weekend! The venue also hosts go-kart racing on Friday evenings. Social distancing rules are in effect for all events! For more information visit
View the results of the Patrick Ahlund Classic here!
Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.